Read Between the Lines

Travizzt's Book Reviews and Rants

  • Next Review

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe

    Join 115 other followers

State of the Blog: Updating the Update

Posted by travizzt on April 14, 2010

Time for yet another… Quick Update! Yay?


You may be wondering where a new review is and why I haven’t really posted much about anything for the past few days. Well, I’ve been having some troubles and issues. Oh don’t worry, these aren’t personal, they are more focus driven. Okay, it may be better if I explain a bit.

My current read through and review of Dreaming Again edited by Jack Dann, an anthology that show cases the talents of thirty-five Australian writes, is just going horrible. It’s not like the stories are bad, there is just too many. Thirty-five stories may be great, but it’s a pain to write a review on each on (especially after a story that’s only four pages). I’m only reading two or three stories a day. The other issue is that they just aren’t in my interest field. What I mean by that is, I don’t like reading current/present day fiction. I just find it boring most of the time. Sure, there are wonderful stories set in the present, but it’s just not what I enjoy. So when a present day story is the next story of the anthology, I just want to throw the book down and pick up some good ol’ fantasy novel. The problem with that is I’m eighteen stories in (halfway!) through and I just don’t want to give up. Yes, I’ve stopped reading a book that I have started, I’m looking at you The Stoneholding by James G. Anderson and Mark Sebanc, but I was only a page or two in before it dawned on me that this book is extremely dry. Oh don’t worry, I will be reading that sometime in the future. Dreaming Again does have some good stories in it, so it’s not like it’s a horrible book that it pains me to read and that’s why it’s taking so long for a review. There is just too much! I mean, take some of my other anthologies I’ve reviewed: let’s just  pick my most recent review Realms of the Dead edited by Susan J. Morris. This took six pages to write, as with most of the others. Six pages isn’t a lot, and I did go into some detail with each story. With Dreaming Again, I’m on the seventh page and I’m barely writing as thorough of a review. I mean I’m just saying one or two sentences (in some cases more) about each point I bring up. Not to mention that my closing thoughts on each story is really a sentence. There is just too much! With this being said, I am shooting for finishing and posting a new review sometime next week (4/19, 4/20, or 4/21) but honestly, I don’t think I’ll be able to. I’m sick of reading this anthology and it really has turned me off from them for a while…

In other news, I seemed to have hit a few snags with starting a Let’s Play. I’ve decided I’m going to try out The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind as my first Let’s Play and that is working and running beautifully. That’s not the problem. The problem is capturing game sound and my microphone. Since I’m pretty much tight on money, I’ve downloaded a program called CamStudio which captures footage off your computer, and in my case the game footage and it should record any microphone sound along with the footage. Yet, it isn’t recognizing the microphone. I’ve tried just about everything, and I’m at the point where I downloaded a program (Audacity) to just pick up the microphone while CamStudio records the game (and the game sound). The problem is I have to synch up the two in order to make it work, and I have no video editing experience, so that’s a pain. However, I did download a trial version of FRAPS, and surprisingly, it picked up the microphone sound and the game sound. However, it only works for thirty seconds at a time and it seemed to lag out (or slow down) the game. I could get the full version of FRAPS, but it costs $37 and I’m not really willing to get it if I can figure out how to do it for free. If I can’t work out the CamStudio and Audacity synching, then I may just shell out the money for FRAPS and hope it makes it look good… I’m going to be making that decision by the weekend as well.

The final bit of news is on my Video Game Rant of Borderlands. Now, I don’t know when I’ll be able to write this but it will be sometime within the next couple of weeks. I have beaten the main game and am working through the DLC, but for the past week or so I’ve been messing around with starting up a Let’s Play and I haven’t really been playing it. But I will be posting up a Rant on it sometime soon, I just don’t know when!

That’s all for now and be sure to check back this weekend and (hopefully) see the long Dreaming Again review!

Thanks for everyone’s patience!

-Travizzt or Travis

2 Responses to “State of the Blog: Updating the Update”

  1. John said

    Have you tried a headset (earphones and mic.) for recording with camstudio? I had to do a bit of frigging around with my audio settings = SoundMAX on my laptop, but it works OK now. I found that trying to mix video and audio was hard to do and lost a lot of video clarity so recording direct is better if you can make it work. video embed test recording Hope it helps. Regards John

  2. travizzt said

    Yeah, I have been using a headset and my built in mic to test. Both ways yield nothing. I’ve looked at a lot of “how to” videos as well as “help” articles and it seems that my lovely computers sound options are missing something important. A microphone volume with the Stereo Mix setting. Maybe I’ll make a quick video of everything I’m trying later, seeing as I’m not really coherent with technical talk. I am determined to make this work though!

Leave a Reply

 
