Read Between the Lines

Travizzt's Book Reviews and Rants

  • Next Review

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe

    Join 115 other followers

State of the Blog: Let’s Playing Issue

Posted by travizzt on April 25, 2010

Issues, issues… Who’s got a tissue?


I know previously I mentioned I was going to be doing a Let’s Play within the upcoming weeks. Well, it seems I’m going to have to be putting that on the back burning for a while. Why am I doing this?

A few quick issues:
1) Microphone. For some reason, I can not get my microphone to pick up my voice. In CamStudio, it will not pick up anything but game sound, which is okay since I downloaded Audacity to help that out. Audacity still works fine, so that’s not to worry. I’ll get into the CamStudio issues later. With FRAPS, it doesn’t seem to be picking the microphone as well. Also, I’m not really willing to purchase the full version of FRAPS to test it out. However, I’ll get into that later as well. I don’t know why my microphone isn’t picking anything up. The built-in computer microphone does work (at least I think) but it would be too quiet for anyone to hear me. The microphone just isn’t getting picked up and I know it works as well. So that’s one reason the Let’s Play is on the back burner.
2) Quality. CamStudio has awful video capturing quality for The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. It’s just plain disgusting. I could try it with the earlier Fallout games or Baldur’s Gate, but I kind of wanted to start with Morrowind.  FRAPS on the other hand as amazing quality. The only thing is, I don’t want to pay the $40 or so dollars for the full version (I’m kind of on a budget). I would like to use FRAPS. The more I think about it, the more I like it. It’s just the money that’s the issue. It may not seem a lot, but it’s enough to make me pause and think if it’s worth it.
But I do still plan on doing a Let’s Play at some point in time. Just for the moment, until I can get these issues fixed, it’s on the back burner on simmer.

Also, some news. I will, and I mean WILL, be starting a book review show within the next few weeks (depending on how many I’ve read by then). The basic premise is I’ll be talking about the recent books I’ve read, give some basic criticism and praises of each book, and suggest buying, borrowing, or forgetting them. Maybe even throw in some other reviews perspectives off of Amazon or something to even out the review. In the shows essence, it’s just a video version on the written reviews, albeit simplified, and includes the past few weeks worth of what I’ve read. The other problem I think I may run across is that most of the reviews will be covering things in the Forgotten Realms setting of fantasy, and that’s a niche area. But nevertheless, I will be starting up a review show here in the next few weeks!

That’s everything that’s coming up.

Thanks!
Travis or Travizzt or whatever

Leave a Reply

 
