Read Between the Lines

Travizzt's Book Reviews and Rants

  • Next Review

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe

    Join 115 other followers

State of the Blog (May 2010)

Posted by travizzt on May 15, 2010

Blog Update for May 2010


Hey everyone who comes here to read my reviews and rants!

I thought that it may be time for a quick update on what’s going to happen in the near future.

First off let me say that I’m going to continue with what I’m doing now. I’m still going to be writing reviews and trying to rant about something every once in a while. That’s not going to change. At all. Well, unless something happens… Or a better idea hits me… But that’s not important at this time and that’s not what I wanted to talk about.

What is important is what’s upcoming.

Now, I know I said I will be doing a Let’s Play of The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind sometime soon. It’s still on the back-burner. Why? I’m still trying to work out the kinks of recording the footage and I might need to buy an external hard drive to store the files. But I don’t have the money and I’m not going to buy that anytime soon. Speaking of not having the money, I’m still working with a free version of FRAPS. Until I get everything worked out, I will not be purchasing the full version. Well, unless I can find some new and better capturing software that’s for free. I’ve tried Cam Studio, but their video footage is just… awful. And I mean awful. So in short, Let’s Play isn’t going to be playing on here anytime soon. Maybe within a month or two, but not at this time.

The other bit of news is I am going to be starting a video review show of the books I’ve read. I’ve mentioned this before as well and I’m kicking around two ideas on the premise.
1) A bi-weekly show that I talk about what I’ve read and if it’s worth the pick up. It’s just going to be a basic recap of the written reviews, with maybe some more. This was the idea I was going to go with until I thought of something else.
2) A series review. What this would be is a review on a series of books (say a trilogy or longer) and it would be more in-depth. It’ll probably be spoiler heavy and highlight each book’s negatives and positives (a la the written reviews) and applying it to the series as a whole. The only problem is that I can’t really do this with single books or newer releases and would mainly consist of older books. I could do a quickie review of those single and newer releases until the full series comes out, but that may be hard.
Anyways, I am going to be starting that within a few weeks. I will be trying out an introduction video when I get everything sorted out and look for that in the upcoming week. Input would be nice about the review show!

Finally, I am going to be starting summer classes within two weeks. I’m only saying that because it may slow down things, but I highly doubt it. It’s only one class. How hard can it be?

Thanks!

– Travis

One Response to “State of the Blog (May 2010)”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Travis Eisenbrandt. Travis Eisenbrandt said: Concerning a few things, read State of the Blog (May 2010): http://wp.me/pGqQm-cV […]

Leave a Reply

 
