Read Between the Lines

Travizzt's Book Reviews and Rants

  • Next Review

  • Follow Me on Twitter!

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe

    Join 115 other followers

When Werewolves Attack by Del Howison

Posted by travizzt on January 18, 2011

Werewolves can be scary creatures. Thankfully, When Werewolves Attack tells us how to deal with them!

When Werewolves Attack by Del Howison

Special Note: This is the first time I’ve read and reviewed a book like this. It may be a little rough, because it’s outside my norm.

When Werewolves Attack was released in September 2010 and published by Ulysses Press. Del Howison has edited a number of anthologies. He has edited a number with Jeff Delb Dark Delicacies, Dark Delicacies II: Fear, Dark Delicacies II: Fear; More Original Tales of Terror and the Macabre by the World’s Greatest Horror Writers, and Dark Delicacies III: Haunted. He helped in editing The Book of Lists: Horror with Amy Wallace and Scott Bradley. He contributed a story to an anthology titled Midnight Walk. He co-wrote Vampires Don’t Sleep Alone: Your Guide to Meeting, Dating and Seducing a Vampire with Elizabeth Barrial under the pen-name D. H. Altair.

When Werewolves Attack is a “field guide” on how to deal with werewolves. It tells of the history of werewolves, some of their traits, how to spot them, and how to deal with them. There is also a section of werewolf myths and facts, along with a section about some of the legends dealing with werewolves.

Criticisms:
1) Repeating. There seemed to be a lot of information that was repeated. It wasn’t a bad thing, it was just a little annoying after the third time reading the same thing. It was a bit distracting, and it took away from any new information that could have been presented. This isn’t a huge complaint, it’s just an annoyance I had.

Praises:
1) History. The history of werewolves was really interesting. Learning about where the myth may have come from was just interesting. I never really expected this to be that in-depth with the history. I may not have known a lot about werewolves, but after the this I feel like I know a little more about the mythical creatures.
2) Humor. A lot of subtle humor in this ‘guide’, and it was a welcome change. For the most part, this book takes itself fairly seriously. That makes the humor that much better, along with more potent. There were a number of times that I found myself smiling with some of the quick-witted, unexpected quips and jokes. The best one that comes to mind is when talking about the Twilight saga, which is unfortunately mentioned, to ask an adolescent girl. All in all, I was surprised by the amount of humor and jokes.

Side Notes:
1) Pictures. The pictures inside the ‘guide’ were really amusing and had me smiling. I didn’t expect that and they were a welcomed change.
2) Timeline. The timeline at the end of the book that tells of the history of werewolves was interesting and really did a good job at summing up the book as a whole.
3) Cover Art. When Werewolves Attack has a bland cover, but works. There isn’t much to really mention about the cover. The title is noticeable and I do like the claw marks on it. Other than that, it’s a bit generic.

Overall: 5/5
Final Thoughts:
When Werewolves Attack is hard for me to review. It’s just not my kind of book and it’s really outside the norm for me. Thankfully, it is still a fun and interesting read. The only issue I had with it was that things seemed to be unnecessarily repeated. It’s small complaint, but I did get annoyed with it. Other than that, I really enjoyed learning about werewolf history. That section was my favorite part of this guide, by far. It was interesting and I learned a few things that I didn’t know. Also, I enjoyed the humor that was found. The whole book had this kind of subtle humor to it, even though it seemed to take itself fairly seriously. The humor really made reading enjoyable and not a chore. Recommending When Werewolves Attack is hard for me to do. I would say that if you like these kind of guidebooks, pick this up. I would so recommend this to those who like werewolf lore. For an average reader, it may interest you and if it does, pick it up.

One Response to “When Werewolves Attack by Del Howison”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ulysses Press. Ulysses Press said: When Werewolves Attack by Del Howison: http://t.co/vC878MY […]

Leave a Reply

 
